How to make a pumpkin pie

October 12, 2011 § Leave a comment

In keeping with my new country person lifestyle, I decided to make a pumpkin pie from an actual pumpkin instead of a can of pumpkin puree. The process took two days (I had to pace myself after all), but in the end I think the results were worth it. The medium pumpkin that I roasted for the pie actually produced enough pumpkin “meat” for a delicious ravioli and a lovely pumpkin soup. And I discovered that my favorite color is that of cooked pumpkin insides.

Cut your pumpkin in half, very carefully

Get the seeds and other stuff out and then roast it at 350 or so until it's soft

When it's soft, dig it out of the skin (oh, that color. . .)

The pulp looks stringy so you have to puree it in a blender or food processor

The mother lode

First night, pumpkin ricotta ravioli with butter sage sauce

The next day, I got one big pie and three baby pies

Well worth the effort

So grab that pumpkin off the porch and make something tasty!

 

Tagged: ,

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading How to make a pumpkin pie at Adventures in Five Islands.

meta

